Exquisite Workmanship

      The skill of precious metal processing in handcraft way are met in Caucasus in Georgians, Armenians, Azerbaijanis & others but nowhere it had such scales as in Lak. In Kazikumukh district the processing of gold & silver are met in 55 of 100 auls.

      The best masters were considered the masters of such villages as Kumukh, Khurukra, Unchukatl, Kaya, Kurkly, Balkhar. D.S.Gabiyev mentioned also the following villages: Nitzovkra, Duchi, Chitur, Churtakh, Chara.

      Many trade researchers single out Kumukh (Kazi-Kumukh), which is famous not only as the center of Laks, but as the place where all kinds of trade were represented. Kumukh was famous for the smartest samples of armour skill, for the high mastery in decorating the different things by silver, gold, ivory, enamel. According to the information of 1886 year there were 608 silver masters & 276 blacksmiths.

      The local masters prepared different women adornments from silver & gold: cast & lacy belts, rings, earrings, necklaces, bracelets, head dressers, buttons, chest adornments. Besides they made snuffboxes, glasses, boxes, Caucasus men belts, decorated scabbard of knives, swords, sables & others. The most difficult work was considered the perfection of scabbard & handles of knives, swords, and sables.

      These goods were famous far out of Caucasus. Especially expensive works the masters gave as a present for the East Rulers in Istanbul, Tebriz, Alexandria, Cairo, Damask, and Baghdad.

      The enrichment of the Lak masters' skills was conduced that they studied their mastery not only in their native villages but also in different towns & villages of Caucasus, Russia & in Near East countries. The names of Kumukh masters are well known in Ashkhabad, Batumi, Astrakhan, Kutaisi, Petersburg & many other cities. At the beginning of the XX century Master Magomet Batirov visited Arabia & Abissiniya; master Magomet Paramazov - Iran, Syria & others.

      The works of Lak masters were decorated by ornament like in Kubachi. Here you can see the interaction on the basis of similar technical methods in ornaments.

      The main sorts of ornaments are: "murh-nakuch" (in Kubachi - "tutta" that means "branch"); "kuradar" (in Kubachi - "marharay" that means "growth"). The elements that were often met in the ornaments in silver & gold were flower, flower in flower, grass & pointed binding.

      Small decorating elements ("tanga"), which are the structure of the Kumuh ornament, are less differentiated than Kubachi "biki" (heads), because in Kumuh there were not crushing into the smallest variations.

      Being the realistic reflection of the environment, the small ornaments & separate scrolls are identical with the names of plants, animals, things: " Hen head", "paw", "flower", "leaf", "bulb", "worn", "bush".

      On the armour they often used so called "cherkes's picture" - that is the separate areas of this ornament follows each other in the rhythm of alternated rounds & ovals filled by many small designs.

      Usually all the works of silver masters were ornamented by the blackness & engraving. Later at the end of XIX century filigree had a great spread, which was come to the Caucasus through the Small Asia from the South Europe by the Armenians-settlers at the beginning of XIX century. Belts ornamented by the filigree were decorated also by the gilt, colored stones of red, green & other colors. The badges, coins & silver engraving pendants traditionally decorated leather belts.

      Laks' masters with their rare goods took part in All over Russia Handcraft Trade Exhibition in Petersburg in 1903. The big silver medal received the citizen of Kumuh for work of art & technical perfection of jewelry. Small silver medals got also Kumuh masters; one for gold notch on steel & bone, the other for the beauty & artistic quality of silver & gold works.

      At the 2nd half of XIX - beginning of XX century many talented masters of Caucasus were superseded by the Daghestan people, among which prevailed the Laks of Kazikumuh district. Keeping their traditional technique & perceiving many themes of near by living people, Lak masters enriched their technology.

BACK     MAIN PAGE

ЮВЕЛИРНОЕ ДЕЛО

      Искусство обработки драгоценных металлов кустарным способом встречается на Кавказе у грузин, армян, азербайджанцев и других народов, но нигде оно не имело таких масштабов, как у лаков. В Казикумухском округе обработкой золота и серебра занимались в 55 аулах из 100.

      Лучшими считались мастера-ювелиры селений Кумух, Хурукра, Унчукатль, Кая, Куркли, Балхар. Д.С.Габиев, кроме того, упоминает еще и селения: Ницовкра, Дучи, Читур, Чуртах, Чара.

      Многие исследователи, промысла, выделяют Кумух (Кази-Кумух), известный не только как центр лакцев , но и место, где были представлены все виды ремесел. Кумух славился самыми изящными образцами оружейного искусства, высоким мастерством в отделке различных изделий серебром, золотом, слоновой костью, эмалью. По данным 1886 г., в Казикумухском округе насчитывалось 608 мастеров-серебряников и 276 кузнецов.

      Местные мастера изготавливали из золота и серебра всевозможные женские украшения: литые и ажурные пояса, кольца, серьги, ожерелья, браслеты, головные уборы, пуговицы, нагрудные украшения. Кроме того, ими изготавливались и табакерки, бокалы, шкатулки, газыри, кавказские мужские пояса, отделанные ножны кинжалов, шашек, сабель и многое другое. Наиболее сложной работой считалась отделка ножен и рукояток кинжалов, шашек, сабель.

      Изделия эти славились далеко за пределами Кавказа. Особо ценные изделия мастера везли в дар восточным правителям в Стамбул, Тебриз, Александрию, Каир, Дамаск, Багдад.

      Обогащению творчества лакских мастеров способствовало и то, что они учились мастерству не только в родных аулах, но и в разных городах и селениях Кавказа, России и стран Ближнего Востока. Известны имена многих кумухских мастеров, работавших в Ашхабаде, Батуми, Астрахани, Кутаиси, Петербурге и других городах. Мастер Магомет Батыров в начале XX в. посетил Аравию, Абиссинию; мастер Магомет Парамазов - Иран, Сирию и т.д.

      Изделия лакских мастеров украшались орнаментом, аналогичным кубачинскому. Здесь налицо взаимовлияние на основе схожих технических приемов и орнаментики.

      Основные виды орнамента: "мурх-накъич" (у куба-чинцев - "тутта" - ветвь); "курадар" (у кубачинцев - "мархарай" - заросль). Часто встречающимися элементами орнамента на серебре и золоте были: цветок, цветок в цветке, трава и точечный кант.

      Мелкие декоративные элементы ("танъга"), составляющие структуру кумухского орнамента, менее дифференцированы, чем кубачинские "бики" (головки), т.к. в Кумухе не произошло значительного дробления на их мельчайшие вариации.

      Являясь реалистическим отображением предметов окружающей действительности, мелкие узоры и отдельные завитки тождественны названиям растений, зверей, предметов быта; "куриная голова", "лапа", "цветок", "древесный лист", "луковица", "червь", "куст".

      На оружии часто использовали так называемый "черкесский рисунок" - отдельные участки этого узора следуют друг за другом в беспокойном ритме чередующихся кругов и овалов, заполненных множеством мелких узоров.

      Обычно все изделия мастеров-серебряников украшались чернью и гравировкой. Позже, в конце ХЕХ в. получила большое распространение филигрань, которая, как считают исследователи, была занесена на Кавказ через Малую Азию из Южной Европы армянами-переселенцами в начале XIX в. Пояса, орнаментированные филигранью, украшались также позолотой, цветными камнями красного, зеленого и других цветов. Кожаные пояса традиционно украшались также бляхами, монетами, серебряными гравированными подвесками.

      Лакские мастера со своими уникальными изделиями участвовали и во Всероссийской кустарно - промысловой выставке в Петербурге в 1903 г. Большую серебряную медаль получил житель Кумуха за художественность и высокое техническое совершенство ювелирных изделий. Малые серебряные медали также получили кумухские мастера: один - за золотую насечку на стали и кости, другой - за красоту и художественные качества серебряных и золотых изделий.

      Во второй половине XIX в. - нач. ХХ в. многие талантливые мастера Кавказа были вытеснены отходниками - дагестанцами, среди которых преобладали лакцы Казикумухского округа. Сохраняя свою традиционную технику и воспринимая многие мотивы сопредельных им народов, лакские мастера во многом обогатили свою технологию.

ГАДЖИ АБИССИНСКИЙ - Гаджиев Адиль-Герей

Назад